ASEAN Taxonomy Webinar

Play Video

Webinar in Conjunction with the Announcement of Version 1 of

the Key Components of The ASEAN Taxonomy for Sustainable Finance

10 November 2021, 1600-1800hrs, GMT+8
Participants: Open (Government officials, industry members, media)

The ASEAN Taxonomy for Sustainable Finance: Facilitating Transition Towards a Sustainable ASEAN

ASEAN is collectively the fifth largest economy in the world. However, it is also one of the most vulnerable regions to the impacts of climate change, resulting from which ASEAN member states are expected to incur severe dents to their GDP per capita. Signifying a regional commitment to accelerate climate mitigation transitions, ASEAN established the ASEAN Taxonomy Board (ATB) in March 2021.

 In conjunction with COP26, the ATB is announcing its first milestone in the development of a multi-tiered regional taxonomy, which will cover both green and transition activities. The webinar held in conjunction with this event will explore how should ASEAN chart its transition path, and what challenges lie ahead.

GMT+8 Wednesday, 10th November 2021


Keynote address by ATB Chair Noorrafidah Sulaiman, Deputy Managing Director, Brunei Darussalam Central Bank


Special remarks by Winfried Wicklein, Deputy Director General, Southeast Asia Department, Asian Development Bank (ADB)


Presentation on the ASEAN Taxonomy by ATB Board Member and Chair of Working Group on Market Facing and Resourcing, Zainal Izlan Zainal Abidin, Deputy Chief Executive, Securities Commission Malaysia


Panel discussion – Facilitating ASEAN’s Transition to Sustainability

Global and regional stakeholders in the sustainability agenda representing finance, industry and multilateral organisations provide perspectives on efforts to transition to sustainability.  How should ASEAN chart its transition journey that is inclusive and in line with Paris Agreement aspirations?

Moderator: Eugene Wong, CEO, The Sustainable Finance Institute Asia


  • Eric Francia, President & CEO, AC Energy Corporation
  • Stewart James, Managing Director, Government Affairs, HSBC
  • Mushtaq Kapasi, Managing Director & Chief Representative for APAC, International Capital Market Association
  • Shivanan_Sivarajah, Head of Energy & Resources, Asia & Oceania, MUFG



Keynote Speaker
Noorrafidah Sulaiman
ASEAN Taxonomy Board Chair
Brunei Darussalam Central Bank
Special Remarks
Winfried Wicklein
Deputy Director General, SERD
Asian Development Bank
ASEAN Taxonomy Presentation
Zainal Izlan Zainal Abidin
ASEAN Taxonomy Board Member
Securities Commission Malaysia

Moderator & Panel Speakers

Eugene Wong
Chief Executive Officer Sustainable Finance Institute Asia
Shiv Sivarajah
Head of Energy & Resources Asia Pacific, MUFG Bank
Mushtaq Kapasi
Managing Director and Chief Representative, Asia Pacific, International Capital Market Association (ICMA)
Eric Francia
President & Chief Executive Officer, AC Energy Corporation
Stewart James
Managing Director and Head of Group Public Affairs, Asia Pacific, HSBC


The ASEAN Taxonomy Board (ATB) is set up under the auspices of the ASEAN Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors’ Meeting (AFMGM) and is jointly driven by the ASEAN Capital Markets Forum (ACMF), the ASEAN Insurance Regulators’ Meeting (AIRM), the ASEAN Senior Level Committee on Financial Integration (SLC) and ASEAN Working Committee on Capital Market Development (WC-CMD).

The ATB will develop, maintain and promote a multi-tiered ASEAN Taxonomy for Sustainable Finance (ASEAN Taxonomy) that will identify economic activities that are sustainable and help direct investment and funding towards a sustainable ASEAN.

The ASEAN Taxonomy will be the overarching guide for all ASEAN Member States (AMS), complementing their respective national sustainability initiatives and serving as ASEAN’s common language for sustainable finance. It will be designed to ensure that AMS have a framework that suits their economic and social structures that other frameworks may not be able to address.

Transition is a key element of ASEAN’s sustainability agenda and the ASEAN Taxonomy will incorporate an effective pathway to enable an orderly transition.

The Members of the ATB comprise representatives of ACMF, AIRM, SLC and WC-CMD. The current Board comprises of Member Institutions from all ten (10) ASEAN Member States, as follows:

  •  Chair: Brunei Darussalam Central Bank: Mdm. Noorrafidah Sulaiman, Deputy Managing Director (Monetary Operations, Development and International).

  • Vice-Chair: Monetary Authority of Singapore: Mr. Daniel Wang, Executive Director (Insurance).

  • Non-Bank Financial Services Authority (NBFSA) of Cambodia, Mr. Mey Vann, Secretary of State of Ministry of Economy and Finance, and Secretary General, General Secretariat of NBFSA.

  • Otoritas Jasa Keuangan Indonesia, Mr. Greatman Rajab, Director.

  • Bank of Lao PDR, Ms. Fongchinda Sengsourivong, Director General of the Lao Securities Commission Office.

  • Bank Negara Malaysia, Mr. Fraziali Ismail, Assistant Governor.

  • Securities Commission Malaysia, Ms. Azalina Adham, Managing Director. 

  • Ministry of Planning and Finance of Myanmar, Mr. Zaw Naing, Director General (Financial Regulatory).

  • Securities and Exchange Commission Philippines, Mr. Kelvin Lester K. Lee, Commissioner

  • Monetary Authority of Singapore, Ms. Gillian Tan, Assistant Managing Director (Development & International) and Chief Sustainability Officer.

  • Bank of Thailand, Mr. Tharith Panpiemras, Assistant Governor.

  •  Office of Insurance Commission of Thailand, Dr. Suthiphon Thaveechaiyagarn, Secretary General

  • State Securities Commission of Viet Nam, Mr. Vu Chi Dzung, Director General (International Cooperation).

The ATB is overseen by the AFMGM with the Sustainable Finance Institute Asia (SFIA) providing administrative support as host of the ATB.